Tarot: It’s Not As Crazy As You Think

Processed with VSCOcam with m2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

The Wild Unknown Tarot deck, available from The Wild Unknown and Free People

A lot of people are really into tarot. Most people scoff at it as just another hokey bit of mystical mumbo-jumbo. I’m one of those people who’s really into tarot.

Please don’t leave. I’m not a crazy lady. Hear me out.

I can be pretty cynical about this kind of stuff too. I’m very grounded in things I can physically experience. I love spirituality, but sometimes I have a difficult time connecting to the intangible stuff. For me, tarot is a way to connect to the part of myself I sometimes have a hard time reaching.

I use tarot as a kind of meditation. When I’m trying to figure out what direction to take my career or how to approach family issues, or when I just need affirmation that eating a pint of gelato in one sitting does not make me a bad person, I turn to my tarot cards.

The cards are purposely a bit vague so that they can apply to anyone. I see that as a positive thing. I don’t expect the cards to tell me the future or anything like that. I use them to organize my thoughts. Often I have so much going on in my head that I’m not sure which direction to go. Tarot helps me turn the craziness inside my head into a cohesive thought process. The cards tell me things I already knew but hadn’t been able to decipher properly (like the fact that I probably should not be eating a whole pint of gelato in one sitting).

Different people get different things from the cards. Some people are not very open to them, which is fine. Those who are open to guidance from the cards don’t find out who they’re going to marry or when they’re going to die. They simply find out how to organize their thoughts enough to start out on a more decisive path.

I don’t know if I believe in crystal balls or spirits or spells, but I do believe in guided meditation. Some people meditate during yoga. Others surround themselves with nature. I read tarot cards.

If you want to give tarot a chance, find a reader near you or ask me questions about tarot in the comments. It can seem silly at first, but the more you meditate with tarot, the better you’ll be able to decipher your thoughts. I can’t, however, make any promises regarding gelato intake.

2 thoughts on “Tarot: It’s Not As Crazy As You Think

Leave a Reply

