Change Is Gonna Come

2013-07-13 16.34.22Today a woman stopped me on the street. I noticed her looking at me, as if to get my attention, and when I made eye contact she stopped and spoke to me.

“I don’t mean to bother you,” she said, “but I’m a psychic and you have a very strong aura. I see a career change coming for you. You’ve been very confused lately, but things will work out. You’ll end up where you’re meant to be.”

And then she walked away.

A lot of people would scoff at this woman, but I’ve always been fascinated with the supernatural, be it psychics, tarot, spirits, magic, or  what have you. I think there’s a lot in the universe that we don’t understand. There’s also the fact that this woman hit the nail pretty hard on the head.

I’ve spent the summer in New York City interning for an entertainment magazine, and while it’s been a great experience, it’s also made me wonder if this is what I really want to do and where I want to be. For the longest time I thought I wanted to move here, but I realized I don’t want that at all. It’s been a struggle because, if I realized that I actually don’t want something I’ve wanted my whole life, what else don’t I know about myself?

My time at this internship is almost over, and after this I have one more year of school. In that year I need to figure some things out. I’m still not even sure what all those things are yet. I am sure, however, that I need to look at myself a little closer. I thought I knew what I wanted, but now that’s been turned on it’s head a bit. I need to figure out what I actually want, not what I thought I was supposed to want.

Maybe this woman really was a psychic. Maybe I just looked a little lost. Regardless, the things she said to me were things I’ve been saying to myself for a while now. Change is coming, like she said. I’m not exactly sure what that change will lead to, but it is going to happen. I just need to take a step back and figure things out a little bit first. I’m excited though. I’ve felt for a while now that I wasn’t quite where I wanted to be. Maybe now I’ll be able to get myself there.

Leave a Reply

